A Fortunate Squatter

Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

North Horn“My favorite thing about myself” is that I have little to do with it.  Born into a loving family, a small community in a great country at a time in history when I enjoy hard-fought, blood-bought liberty–freedoms I regularly take for granted–the best things about me are the innumerable things that are not, whose company I treasure more than “original self,” whoever that was.

Does a pearl boast of its pearliness when its origin is dubious?  At best, it was merely in the wrong place at the right time; a foreign substance covered with layers of nacre to protect its host.  In other words, a fortunate squatter.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem tooting my own horn to friends who know better.  Consider a favorite song of mine.   It’s just that tooting my own horn comes perilously close to plagiarism and I couldn’t, for the life of me, cite all the people who deserve “credit.”  So, best not to toot at all.

Tagged
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

