Calling me out

DAILY PROMPT: TEACHER’S PET  – Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

Any teacher who took the time to call me when posturing

Mr. Galanti in 2nd Grade when I indiscriminately started using a new word I learned from my friend Kyle.   “What did you just say?”  I said it again, with a little more caution.  “You shouldn’t use that word.  It doesn’t mean what you think it means.”  I don’t remember what it was, just that it was inappropriate.  My parents wouldn’t appreciate it, he said, not to mention that the other kids in class didn’t need to bring it home either.  He was putting out a wildfire.  Our little brains were tinder and Kyle, apparently, brought the matches.

Mr. Hook, a counseling professional, who told me his first impressions of me was that I was “a real jerk.”  I was, but thought it was funny and harmless.  Impact?  I’m less of a jerk.  At least, I think so–or rather, I try not to be.

Dr. Twelker for calling me out when I was desperately stretching the limits of what I knew about “subject b” in class.  “Braaten!  You have the brain of a lizard.”  That was my Junior year.  He knew me well enough to know that I had no self-esteem issues.  I could learn to be less of a fool in his class.

Tagged
